Veteran reefer

Go down

Veteran reefer

Post  ReeferRob on 7th September 2014, 11:28 pm

Hello all, been reading here and looking at all your dive photos to get coral placement right. I've been keeping reef tanks since 1986, saltwater fish since 1974. Now I'm sitting here wishing I was down there looking for new critters for my tank. One day I will get to Australia to dive/ snorkel or just wander around in the water.
ReeferRob

Back to top Go down

reefer rob

Post  straddy boy on 8th September 2014, 1:00 pm

Reefer rob
Good to see you like the photos of the coral; all the photos are off the variety s that we see when we are diving. I would love to see some photos of your fish tank. You have been keeping reef tanks for quite a while now. I bet you have some great knowledge about keeping a reef tank; I would like to share some off that from you .hope to hear from you soon.
straddy boy

Back to top Go down

Re: Veteran reefer

Post  ReeferRob on 8th September 2014, 11:18 pm

I'll do that, but it'll be old hat to you, most of my stuff is Australian, Fijian and Indonesian. I have a small favor to ask, could one of you take a salinity reading the next time you go out on a collecting trip?
ReeferRob

Back to top Go down

Post  liquidg on 9th September 2014, 12:25 am

Done it many times mate in open ocean and all other sites in all conditions years ago, PH , KH and nitrate as well.
There are many slight variations, mainly from temperature, but we would take them after rains, in the more robust East ausy current, near the shore line, in estuaries, at varied depths from the surface to 43 metres down and especially with in the thermo clines.
Most of the time I would take my salinity tester with me when getting new salt water, back when I was dependant on water changes.