South East Queensland Marine Aquarium and Ocean activities Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

first cycle - algea death - now coming back with avengence

3 posters

Go down

first cycle - algea death - now coming back with avengence Empty first cycle - algea death - now coming back with avengence

Post  Bretto 16th April 2013, 11:53 am

sry guys i did search algea control - but little findings

I am having trouble with my new tank (also im new to the marines - had cichlids for years) after my first tank finished cycling the algae died off really fast (40g tank - now at 0-25ppm phoshate from test kit, in the middle i can only guess from colour) trying DSB but think the sand is a little course after adding live sand, I have only just added 2 tomato's after 5 weeks not that there have seem to be the course of my lattest algea bloom.

Added 10 turbo snails (don't seem to do much), 6 mirco hares and 10 bristle worms at 4 weeks in to the initial cycle stage to help with bloom, but now at 6 weeks im getting a lot of brown algea forming again, thinking my lighting schedule could be helping the situation since im running LED's at 11 hour cycles (spend a lot of time in my office so like to watch lol).

Note: Nitrate about 0, Nitrites about the same, 0 ammonia. water temp at @ 26 degreesish, also have a in-tank skimmer at the moment and power head.

How can i minimise the new algea growth, should i do more WC'es and cut back on lighting or add maybe a yellow or blue tang (do won't a blue tang at some point) to help with clean up or am I just still freakin and let the tank run a bit longer?

Sorry for the long winded question - just trying to get my head around the processes. or should i be looking at a better water source to coinicide with my WC's

Ay advice or crits will be appricated.

Thanks Bretto

Bretto

Back to top Go down