South East Queensland Marine Aquarium and Ocean activities Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Looking for advice on setting up a reef tank

4 posters

Go down

Looking for advice on setting up a reef tank Empty Looking for advice on setting up a reef tank

Post  Xine 25th January 2010, 10:38 am

Hi everyone! I am so glad that I found this forum! I hope to get myself to one of your club meets when the next one happens.

Well I am very new to the idea of setting up a reef aquarium - previously I have kept tropicals (and it's been a few years since I have done that) I am looking to get back in to keeping fish and thought I might try marine. My BF and I are very keen divers and we love the idea of having a bit of the ocean in our home. I hope that I can get some good advice from some kind forum posters Very Happy

We haven't bought anything yet as we have been researching and thinking about what kind of set up we would like. So I was wondering - what kind of set up is most popular and why? (sump or no?) What brands of important equipment would you recommend and why? What fish species could a Noob like me realistically be confident of keeping alive in the first year? Is coral too difficult? Should I just focus on fish at first?

Thanks in advance,

Christine.

Xine

Back to top Go down

Looking for advice on setting up a reef tank Empty Re: Looking for advice on setting up a reef tank

Post  liquidg+ 26th January 2010, 8:39 am

Hi Xine,good to have you here.

With the aquarium question first off what are you wanting to keep is the main thing and we can go from there.

A sump as they call it these days of a type that suits your needs is the way to go for sure.

Some aspects of the hobby we build ourselves,bio filters,tanks,etc.

Corals in general are easier to keep if the money is spent,more so than fish are.