South East Queensland Marine Aquarium and Ocean activities Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Wiring LED's

4 posters

Go down

Wiring LED's Empty Wiring LED's

Post  DeadSled 10th June 2009, 11:36 am

Ok.. myself and Andre got some LED's off Shane last night at the club meeting.. and shane got it to work as a moon light.

I've tried wiring it up the way i drew up, and also the way colin drew up. I think colins way was wiring the LED's in paralell.. i'm not sure because i'm a welder not a bloody sparky..

Anyway i've wired it twice.. as it should be.. and they don't work. The only thing i can think of is that the resistors have the colour bands on em.. the most outward bands on them are grey on one side and yellow on the other. Is there supposed to be a certian direction to place them, or does it not matter?

Other than that.. i have no idea and i ****in hate wiring like you wouldn't believe Evil or Very Mad
DeadSled
DeadSled

Back to top Go down

Wiring LED's Empty Re: Wiring LED's

Post  DeadSled 10th June 2009, 2:01 pm

Ok.. after talking to a mate of mine (who i've been trying to get to come to the club meetings for the past 3 meetings now..) whos a sparky.. said that resistors are not directional, although i think he said diodes are.. or can be.. i duno.

Anyway.. i overheard shane saying that the white line wire on the power pack was the negative.. Zack said that although it SHOULD work that way (because its just a reverse polarity).. the international standard is that the white line is infact positive. I swapped em over and wala! It worked.

So i'm pretty stoked now that i've actually accomplished something electrical.. cause its something i've always hated doing haha.
DeadSled
DeadSled

Back to top Go down

Wiring LED's Empty !!!

Post  Admin 10th June 2009, 2:31 pm