South East Queensland Marine Aquarium and Ocean activities Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Scorp. tank for a newby

3 posters

Go down

Scorp. tank for a newby Empty Scorp. tank for a newby

Post  tuscanpistoia 27th July 2012, 7:21 am

Hi All, I'm new to the aquarium hobby and to the forum. I've decided it would be best to get advice from those in the know before I start running out and emptying my bank account. I want to set up a FOWLR tank predominantly for some Scorps and Macroalgae. At present I'm interested in keeping a zebra or dwarf fuzzy lionfish (can we get the latter in Queensland?) and maybe a bottom dwelling scorp or two (any recommendations, I find the inimicus sp. and Choridactylus sp. very appealing) as well as a marine betta (feelings, comments) and other things along the way depending on what comes up.

What does everyone think about tank dimensions, filter capacities, availability/suitability of tank-mates along. I'm also interested to hear any thoughts or feelings people have about such a set-up for a newby. I'm well aware that I should take it slow, let bio-filters develop etc. But I want to know what people in the Australian community feel before I spend $$$.

tuscanpistoia

Back to top Go down

Scorp. tank for a newby Empty to easy

Post  Makaira 27th July 2012, 9:34 am

hey champ,
im running a very narrow/ shallow 6ft tank that has a locally collected zebra lionfish, he is about 3 inchs long. however i think he would be happy enough in a 4 or 3 ft tank with the same dimensions
zebs are great aslong as the rest of your fish arent to small or slow.

i think aslong as you have enough water volume to keep the bioload down and give him a reasonable amount off swimming room and caves to chill out in ull be fine.

i made heaps of caves for mine. but i dont think ive seen him in one once. lol.